The Four Valleys Nukuo Ariki

Pelorus River DM & PPM (5) Crop
Climb awe inspiring mountains for breathtaking views, plunge into aquifer fed rivers with pure sparkling waters, and devour some of the best gourmet produce in the country.

Your next destination

Marlborough is a place blessed with many different story lines, bound by the Nukuo Ariki - the four valleys. Standing strong together to protect its people and place. 

The region is roughly divided into four geographic spaces:

1. Te Hoiere (Pelorus Valley from Rai Valley to Durville island)

2. Tōtaranui – Queen Charlotte Sound from Anakiwa to Arapaoa Island and beyond

3. The Wairau Valley from Nelson Lakes to the Wairau Bar

4. Awatere Valley with South Coastal Marlborough. To the northwest lies Richmond Forest Park, with the region protected from the south via the inland Kaikoura’s dominated by the brooding protector Tapuae–o–Uenuku at 2,885 metres the highest mountain in New Zealand outside of the Southern Alps.

Marlborough has 20% of New Zealand’s coastline, woven through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, and nearly 80% percent of its wine industry, stretched across our valleys. As a destination, Marlborough offers a wide range of environments and visitor opportunities – from the mountains to the sea.

Explore your next adventure story.

Keep up to date with us
Stay inspired for your next trip to Marlborough
Follow us