Matthew Couper - Isolation Paintings

Sat 17 Sep - Sun 30 Oct

Millennium Public Art Gallery View this venue

When: Sat 17 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 18 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 20 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 21 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 22 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 23 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 24 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 25 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 27 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 28 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 29 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 30 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 1 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 2 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 4 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 5 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 6 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 7 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 8 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 9 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 10 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 11 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 12 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 13 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 14 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 15 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 16 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 18 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 19 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 20 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 21 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 22 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 23 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 25 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Wed 26 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Thu 27 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Fri 28 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sat 29 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sun 30 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm

Venue: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Website: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Additional Info: All Ages

Matthew Couper is an Aotearoa/ New Zealand-born artist, living and working in the USA. After a decade of painting detailed, highly symbolic artworks, his Isolation Paintings return to a gestural figuration, reminiscent of works created early in his career. From the middle of 2019, desert island landscapes, moody skies enveloped with plumes of smoke, eyeballs, nails and Kazimir Malevich-like-constructions, started to inhabit the surfaces of his canvases. Modes of survival and visible threats are presented: fire-starting bow drills and ominous shark fins prowl the surrounding sea, while floating, crisscrossed wood matrices allude to a makeshift shelter. Although Couper now lives in the Mojave Desert, he seems to be looking back to the seclusion and isolation of Aotearoa - especially in a world of pandemic peril. Exhibition toured by the Aigantighe Art Gallery, Timaru.

Image: Matthew Couper, Vivid Land, Vivid Sky, (detail), 2021 image courtesy of the artist and Paul Nache Gallery

View My Trip