New Landscape: Robyn Bardas, Miranda Joseph, Sue Pearce

Sat 18 Sep - Sun 3 Oct

Millennium Public Art Gallery View this venue

When: Sat 18 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 19 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 20 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 21 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 22 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 23 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 24 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 25 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 26 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 27 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 28 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 29 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 30 Sep, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 1 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 2 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 3 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Venue: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Additional Info: All Ages

The exhibition 'New Landscape' shows new work from Robyn Bardas, Miranda Joseph and Sue Pearce. Each artist has taken a species-specific approach to their response to the landscape. From the red tussock of Gore, Eastern Southland, and Tokyo, Japan’s Cherry blossom, to South Island alpine ecosystems. While their responses are distinct and individual, each artist understands landscape painting to reflect not only political and cultural anxieties about survival of our natural world, but also an acknowledgment of the history and development of painting itself. As New Zealand’s approach to the landscape moves to prioritise sustainability and climate change concerns, landscape-based art practices can contribute to these contemporary dialogues.

Image: Sue Pearce, Otira Series 2, 1 (2020) acrylic on paper 58cm x 146cm

View My Trip