Meet the Russians

Fri 23 Apr - Mon 31 May

Picton Heritage & Whaling Museum View this venue

When: Fri 23 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 24 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 26 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Tue 27 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Wed 28 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 29 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 30 Apr, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 1 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sun 2 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 3 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Tue 4 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Wed 5 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 6 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 7 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 8 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sun 9 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 10 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Tue 11 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Wed 12 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 13 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 14 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 15 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sun 16 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 17 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Tue 18 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Wed 19 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 20 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 21 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 22 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sun 23 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 24 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Tue 25 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Wed 26 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 27 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 28 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 29 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Sun 30 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Mon 31 May, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Venue: Picton Heritage & Whaling Museum

Website: Picton Heritage & Whaling Museum

Pricing: $5.00

Additional Info: All Ages

Join us in celebrating the encounter in 1820 between Russian Antarctic explorers and Maori in Totaranui/Queen Charlotte Sound!

Explore the fascinating, little-known story of the meeting of two cultures, the taonga gifted to Russia, and the interactions between these two peoples.

See models of the Russian sailing ships 'Mirny' and 'Vostok' which circumnavigated the globe and the Antarctic continent, visited Queen Charlotte Sound, and whose crew discovered and mapped new lands unknown to Europeans.

Imagine yourself under sail, crossing the line to find new lands and people, experiencing both rough and calm weather, spectacular sunsets and ferocious winds, the icy cold of Antarctica and the lazy, hazy warmth of tropical islands.

View My Trip