FREE

Nicola Jackson: The Bloggs

Fri 18 Oct - Sun 10 Nov

Millennium Public Art Gallery View this venue

When: Fri 18 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 19 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 20 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 21 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 22 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 23 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 24 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 25 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 26 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 27 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 29 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 30 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 31 Oct, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 1 Nov, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 2 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 3 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tue 5 Nov, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 6 Nov, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 7 Nov, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 8 Nov, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 9 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 10 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Venue: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Website: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Additional Info: All Ages

The Bloggs considers what it is that makes us human.

Nicola Jackson has created her own version of an anatomy museum, filling vitrines and cabinets with a range of curious objects and adorning the walls with paintings of inquisitive characters. Interested in the intersections of science, psychology, museology and art history, Jackson’s work often has an autobiographical element to it. It is also humanist in nature, being about any old Joe Bloggs.

Nicola Jackson was born in Dunedin in 1960 and studied engraving and sculpture at Ilam School of Fine Arts, University of Canterbury. Her honours year installation An Art Anatomy Room was exhibited in Christchurch Arts Centre in 1981 and The Bloggs continues this research.

She is well-known for her vividly-painted three dimensional papier-mâché sculptures which appear in a number of significant national collections including James Wallace Collection, Te Papa Tongarewa and Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

Image: Nicola Jackson, Medecine 2, 2016, painted paper-mache

View My Trip