FREE

Jason McCormick - Far Too Close...

Fri 22 Feb - Sun 17 Mar

Millennium Public Art Gallery View this venue

When: Fri 22 Feb, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 23 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 24 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 25 Feb, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 26 Feb, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 27 Feb, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 28 Feb, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 1 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 2 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 3 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 4 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 5 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 6 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 7 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 8 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 9 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 10 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 11 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 12 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 13 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 14 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 15 Mar, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 16 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 17 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Venue: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Website: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Additional Info: All Ages

A solo exhibition of work by Jason McCormick, Far Too Close... is a multi-media exhibition that explores the thought that globalisation, especially centred on corporate power, is the underlining force of the global unease that the world is experiencing. This body of work evolved from projects Jason developed to complete his Masters in Fine Arts.

"While embracing the 'Digital Age', it is important that I also work with the tactile - make objects by hand and 'Constructed Photography' is the unsurpassed conduit to bring the two methods together. This entails building intricate and precise scale models of structures and props out of cardboard and paper. The models are photographed in various constructed compositions incorporating lighting and other visual mechanisms to enhance and communicate effect. Trying not to be overly didactic, my aim is to elicit a certain feeling from the viewer." - Jason McCormick

View My Trip