FREE

Public and Private: Photographs of People

Mon 24 Jul - Sun 13 Aug

Millennium Public Art Gallery View this venue

When: Mon 24 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 25 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 26 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 27 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 28 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 29 Jul, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 30 Jul, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 31 Jul, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 1 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 2 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 3 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 4 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 5 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 6 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Mon 7 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Tue 8 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Wed 9 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Thu 10 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Fri 11 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
Sat 12 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun 13 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Venue: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Website: Millennium Public Art Gallery

Additional Info: All Ages

Public and Private depicts people through historical images. The private photographs are those we commission or take ourselves – the studio portraits or snapshots that we share only with our family and friends. They speak of our identity within this limited circle.

The public ones are those that are taken on our behalf or for other people. They show who we are in a social sense, as part of a broader group. They include team photographs, workplace gatherings, and people at public events. Such photographs are circulated to people we don’t know – often as published images – exposing us to public view.

The selection comprises 30 photographs shown in Te Papa’s large-scale exhibition New Zealand Photography Collected that was a popular hit from November 2015 to August 2016. They cover 100 years from the 1870s to the 1990s.

The photographs also all feature in the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards finalist New Zealand Photography Collected by Athol McCredie (Te Papa Press, 2015).

View My Trip